Menu
6226 1200
11 August 2015

What happens to your Facebook account after you die?

As of 13 May 2015, Australians can now choose to have their Facebook Account deleted or appoint a Legacy Contact to manage their Facebook Account after they die.

You may think it a bit odd but there have been several cases where FB will not let family members have access to a deceased family members FB account or to retrieve photos or comments from it. I urge you all to set up a legacy contact in your FB account.

See https://www.facebook.com/help/1568013990080948 for more details.

What is a legacy contact?

A legacy contact is someone you choose to look after your account if it’s memorialized. Once your account is memorialized, your legacy contact will have the option to do things like:

  • Write a pinned post for your profile (ex: to share a final message on your behalf or provide information about a memorial service)
  • Respond to new friend requests (ex: old friends or family members who weren’t yet on Facebook)
  • Update your profile picture and cover photo

You also have the option to allow your legacy contact to download a copy of what you’ve shared on Facebook, and we may add additional capabilities for legacy contacts in the future.

Your legacy contact can’t:

  • Log into your account
  • Remove or change past posts, photos and other things shared on your Timeline
  • Read messages you’ve sent to other friends
  • Remove any of your friends

Learn more about memorialization and how to add a legacy contact to your account.

If you’re a legacy contact, learn how to manage a memorialized profile.  Note: You must be 18 or older to select a legacy contact.

Call Now ButtonCall Now